D. Edward Davis

D. Edward Davis is a composer of electronic and acoustic music (often both in the same piece). His work explores patterns and systems inspired by nature and mathematics, as well as slowly-developing nuances of timbre and tuning. Recent performers of his work include IOTA Ensemble, Wild Rumpus New Music Collective, Rootstock Percussion Trio, the Wet Ink Ensemble, the Duke New Music Ensemble, saxophonist Eric Honour, and violinist Erik Carlson. Davis has participated in the 2012 Other Minds Festival, the nief-norf Summer Festival, and the Summer Institute for Contemporary Performance Practice (SICPP). He is currently a PhD candidate and James B. Duke Fellow at Duke University where he studies with Scott Lindroth and John Supko.

WEBSITE: http://sound.warmsilence.org/

LISTEN: drift fields for vibraphone with electronic playback
Wet Ink Ensemble: Ian Antonio, vibraphone; Sam Pluta, electronics

Comments are closed.