Joshua Marquez

Joshua MarquezJoshua Marquez (b. 1990) is a Filipino American composer, classical guitarist, and BioMusic researcher currently pursuing a PhD in composition at the University of Iowa. Joshua holds degrees from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro (MM in composition ’13), and Campbell University (BA in composition ’11 and BA in classical guitar ’11). Marquez’s music has been performed by ensembles such as the JACK Quartet, Stony Brook Contemporary Chamber Players, University of Iowa Center for New Music, Akropolis Reed Quintet, Gate City Camerata, Quintet Sirocco, and the Cape Fear Wind Symphony along with performances at the New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival (NYCEMF 2014), the National Student Electronic Music Event (N_SEME 2014), Birmingham New Music Festival, Circuit Bridges , and the Vox Novus Composer’s Voice Concert Series. His music has been heard in venues such as Symphony Space, Abron Arts Center, Gallery MC, Jan Hus Presbyterian Church, Weatherspoon Art Museum, Hulsey Recital Hall, Georgia Southern University, McIntosh Theatre, the Canada International Film Festival and the Utopia Film Festival. He has studied with David Gompper, Mark Engebretson, and Alejandro Rutty in addition to private studies with Samuel Adler, Derek Bermel, David Biedenbender, Anthony Cheung, Roshanne Etezady, Michael Harrison, Peter Hulen, Laura Kaminsky, Kristin Kuster, Zae Munn, Michael Schelle, and Marilyn Shrude.


LISTEN: Matingkad for flute, oboe, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, and cello
Ensemble 319
Emily Duncan, flute
Allison Offerman, oboe
Thiago Ancelmo de Souza, clarinet
Wannapha Yannavut, percussion
Christine Tithecott, piano
Tim Cuffman, violin
Matthew Laughlin, violoncello

Comments are closed.